Our Governance Team




Dame Patricia Harrison - Patron

Retired Principal- DCNZM, QSM, QSO, MA (Hons in Philosophy)

Pat is a founding trustee and held the role of chair for eight years. Pat was Principal of Queen's High School for 19 years. Other roles include O.R.C councillor; and member of the University of Otago Council.

carole (1).jpg

Carole Adair - Chairperson

Associate, Polson Higgs

Carole is a chartered accountant and works as an Associate at Polson Higgs working mainly in the Business Advisory area where she deals with a wide range of clients both large and small and in both the commercial and rural sectors.  Carole deals with all aspects of clients businesses including compliance and taxation work as well as being involved in training.  Carole was a member of the Board of Trustees of Kings High School and chaired the Finance Committee for 6 years until 2015. She is also a trustee for the Home of St Barnabas and is a member of the Institute of Directors.


Brian Lowe

Youthline Otago Manager - CA, MBA, BCom (Finance, Accounting and Systems)

Brian has a sales/marketing and finance/accounting background. Amongst his business ventures, he is a former shareholder and Sales Director of Tecpak Industries Limited, Dunedin, which grew into an Australian supplier of packaging. Brian is the Manager of Youthline Otago, on the Board of Youthline Southland and Chairs the Youthline National Helpline Operations Committee


Janine Kapa

(Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Māmone, Waitaha)

Deputy Chief Executive Māori Development/Kaitohutohu (Otago Polytechnic)

Janine has extensive experience in education, leadership and strategic management. She has held many Māori-related roles within the University of Otago, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, central government agencies, in the corporate sector and now in her role at the Otago Polytechnic. Janine is a partner in Kia Māia Bicultural Communications, a consultancy which advises government and corporates how to communicate more effectively with their Māori audiences. She was an Otago Youth Wellness Trustee before she left for Wellington in the 1990s and is thrilled to be re-joining the Trust after a 16-year break.


Nicola Atwool

Associate Professor - Department of Sociology, Gender and Social Work (University of Otago)

Nicola is an Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology, Gender, and Social Work at the University of Otago. Prior to her return to the University in 2012 she worked for the Children's Commissioner as a senior advisor. Nicola has an extensive background in social work and child psychotherapy.


Sarah Simmers

Partner Anderson Lloyd Lawyers (Dunedin)

Sarah is a Partner at Anderson Lloyd specialising in Corporate and Commercial Law. Sarah presents guest lectures for the University of Otago's Advanced Company Law and Banking Law classes. She is chair of the organising committee for the Cancer Society Ball, a trustee of the Digital Community Trust and on the Committee of the Dunedin Hospital Early Childhood Centre. Sarah is a member of the Institute of Directors.


Marlia Morris

Account Executive, Timely Ltd (Dunedin)

Marlia is a Dunedin local and works as an Account Executive at local New Zealand tech company Timely Ltd. Marlia is passionate about helping Pacific Island & Maori communities as well as the wider Otago community.


Claire Ramsay

Site Manager, Oranga Tamariki Dunedin - BA

Claire joined the Wellness Trust board in 1999 and brings to the role experience in communications and marketing, central and local government, management and governance roles spanning education, mental health, the environment and Rotary.  In 2018 she left the University of Otago to join Oranga Tamariki in Dunedin and continues in her commitment to our tamariki and ranagtahi through her work and her contribution to the Wellness Trust Board.  She was chair of the board from the beginning of 2014 to June 2018.


Craig Dinnissen

Profile to come